Bowling in the Deep

 

People close to me must already know that I am not the athletic type of person. Physical Education (PE) was torture for me. I’d rather sit in a classroom and listen to an hour-long lecture than get all sweaty and tired in jogging pants. But of course, everyone was required.

One of the PE subjects I have taken was Duckpin Bowling. I think it was five years ago, in the now burnt bowling alleys of Fonacier Hall or the Alumni Center. My scores back then were just average, I think around 70-80. And if I remember it right, I once scored 110. Beat that! Well, somebody really beat that. Fame whore. Haha.

In the coming month, a sports fest will be held for the employees of the Valenzuela City Hall. Each department will compete with one another in the games of basketball, volleyball and… duckpin bowling. I have heard that our department will be conducting a tryout. Usually, I will just be passive regarding such matters. I’m not athletic nor competitive you know. I don’t know whose spirit possessed me that time. I joined the elimination round for duckpin bowling.

I have this bit of confidence that I can somehow score good during the tryout since I have prior knowledge about the sport.

But no. I scored 57, while the others got 70 to 80. Crushed ego. That’s what you get when you let your heart win. Hahaha.

BOWLINGP_20160615_163801

Kuya Chris, being the competitive guy that he is, wants to attend the tryout for all the sports.

BOWLINGP_20160615_164050

Kuya Chris aiming for a strike, just like everybody else.

BOWLINGP_20160615_163841

I don’t know how Kuya Alfie does it, but just when I thought his ball goes by the gutter, it rolls back to the center and makes a strike. What sorcery was that?

BOWLINGP_20160615_163041

With all her spares and breaks, Mamita was one with the high scorers.

BOWLINGP_20160615_163549

Don’t look. It’s embarassing. Hahahuhu.

Well, I’m not really planning on being the official representative of our department in the sports fest anyway. I just wanted to breathe out of the office and to reminisce my bowling days. (Okay. I know. I’m being defensive here. Haha.)

One good outcome of me joining the eliminations is that I found out that there is a bowling center in Valenzuela. The name of the establishment is Star-Ville Bowling Center located at 3rd Floor, Felisa Bldg. MacArthur Highway, Malinta. Their rate is P30 per game. Not bad right?

BOWLINGP_20160615_163257

Unlike in malls where alleys are automated, the pins here are manually placed.

BOWLINGP_20160615_164507

The Bowling Center is at the 3rd Floor so losers can just jump off the building. Sorry, bad joke.

So if you want to try something *ehem* athletic, you might want to try duckpin bowling here. You can invite me too, and let me prove that I can do better that 57.

One thought on “Bowling in the Deep

Leave a Reply

